Embed from Getty Images

Remember the story, The Boy Who Cried Wolf?  Well, my book’s release date has been pushed back so many times that I am beginning to feel like “The Girl Who Cried Book”.   Self-publishing for the first time has been an awesome and exhausting experience.  Initially, I had hoped my children’s picture book would be launched around Easter.  Unfortunately, I told people.  Spring leaked into summer, and still no book.  While I diligently posted book updates to friends and family, summer slipped into fall. Nope, no book yet. Oh, I’ve had 3 rounds of proofs, but no “real” book. Today, I’ll order what I hope and pray is the final, final proof copy. I’m so looking forward to trading my “Girl Who Cried Book” status for “The Lady Who Worked Her #@* off and Created this Awesome Kid’s Book” moniker.

UPDATE!!

Embed from Getty Images

It took much longer than anticipated, but my very first book is finally published.  Self-publishing has been quite a balancing act.  As a first-time author, I had to teach myself each aspect of the process, then I had to go back and complete each step.  All the while, countless stumbling blocks cluttered my path.  Exhausted, but undaunted, I forged ahead.

It turns out that writing and building the book is just the beginning of this crazy journey.  Book promotion and the business side of things is a whole other marathon.  Most days I feel like I am climbing a waterfall, but once in a while, I find the perfect rock.  I regain my footing, take a breath, and press on.

Embed from Getty Images

I was looking forward to trading my “Girl Who Cried Book” status for “The Lady Who Worked Her #@* off and Created this Awesome Kid’s Book” moniker.  But, since I am gearing up for my next publication, I’ll have to stick with crying book!

Embed from Getty Images
