Embed from Getty Images

“Fortune and glory, kid. Fortune and glory.”

Indie authors are some of the most resourceful, tenacious people I know. We are not seeking fortune and glory; we are just trying to carve out a place for ourselves and our work. When I set out on my self-publishing adventure, I had no idea what I was getting myself into. Like Indiana Jones, I could not successfully pursue my passion, until I educated myself about it. I had to learn everything I could about publishing and constructing a book. Next, I had to enlist others (crazy enough) to help me. “Hey, guys, I’m publishing a children’s picture book. Experience, uh, no, I’ve never done this before. Want to come along anyway?” Along they came, and together, we made our way through the doom, and the delight, that is self-publishing. We didn’t get shot at or crash a plane, but it was an exhilarating and exhausting journey just the same.

Fellow Indies, I tip my dusty fedora to you. As Dr. Jones discovered, sometimes our quest requires “a leap of faith”. May your self-publishing adventures lead to what you seek, and may X always mark the spot.

