The Book Wars

Last week I talked about the sources of reluctance in reluctant readers. Today I offer one of the ways in which to, if not remove, then challenge this reluctance. Sometimes, a book can be overwhelming, especially if the reader is still learning the language or is not especially good at paying attention for long periods of time. Words can be intimidating in large quantities and even I, a seasoned reader, sometimes feel overwhelmed by books that are more than a certain number of pages (say 500, I’m looking at Libba Bray, though I love her books).

In those cases, I recommend short stories. Short story collections do not demand extended attention and it is easier to take a break from a short story collection/anthology and still feel productive about reading. Reading shorter stories can also introduce the reader to the pleasure of reading much more easily than a full length novel…

View original post 562 more words

