Start your own giving chain and help get books to kids in need in your area…and pass it on.

Owl Wonder

One of my personal goals this year was to give back to the local community. I wanted to pick something that the whole family can take part in. Yesterday, while my youngest and I were going through her book library, we realized that we had a stack of books which she outgrew. Instead of giving them to my friends and family, I thought that we can do something more. And I knew that I didn’t want to recycle them to a consignment shop either. I searched through the internet and happily found an amazing organization called Reach Out And Read (ROR).

Image via reachoutandread.org Image via reachoutandread.org

Their mission is to donate new and/or used books to underprivileged pediatric clinics throughout the US and promote early literacy. Volunteers have the option to read to the children in the waiting rooms. If I had more time, I definitely hope to participate whenever I…

View original post 319 more words

